2013 NWAIA Design Awards


The Northwest Washington Chapter of The American Institute of Architects invites you to celebrate great architecture from members in Island, San Juan, Skagit, and Whatcom Counties. Our Awards banquet was Thursday, December 12, 2014. The following entries were recognized for their outstanding quality and


Award Recipients

Click on a project image to view the design team credits, interactive galleries, and more:
[SlideDeck2 id=832 ress=1]

Jury Note

Overall, I was quite impressed with the quality of the work submitted. The architects of the Northwest Washington state region are matching the region’s stunning natural beauty with designs that respond with sensitivity and sophistication. In the work of many of the region’s architects, there is a commitment to the well-being of the local communities and to their clients’ needs.

Most of the winners this year are smaller projects, clearly demonstrating that the size of a project has no bearing on its architectural merit. We were impressed with a several houses under 1000 square feet, as well as several small commercial, institutional, and medical buildings that bring the “human scale” back to our communities.

I was particularly taken by the good work happening in adaptive reuse and remodeling projects, from work happening in industrial areas at the waterfronts to the conversion of past-their-prime homes into stunning jewels of craftsmanship and elegance.

The best architecture in Northwest Washington state highlights the unique characteristics of the region, the entrepreneurial spirit of its people, and the talents of its builders and artisans.

Victor E. Sidy, AIA LEED AP
Head of School and Dean Frank Lloyd Wright School of Architecture
Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation

Complete Entry Listing

Click on a project name to view the Design Team & Collaborator credits, view interactive image galleries, and more:

Project NameFirmAward Won
Eagle Point ResidencePrentiss Architects1) Honor Award
Tsunami HouseDesigns Northwest Architects1) Honor Award
Rocket BuildingRMC Architects2) Merit Award
Strandberg Office BuildingBrooks Middleton, Architect2) Merit Award
Bellingham OB/GYN ClinicRMC Architects3) Citation Award
Gaston Bay BuidingChristensen Design Management3) Citation Award
Ten Broek FarmDesigns Nortwest Architects3) Citation Award
Chuckanut Point ResidenceZervas4) Glen Hunt Award
Shelter Bay ResidenceDesigns Northwest Architects4) Young Architect Award
BTC Perry CenterHKP Architects4) Sustainability Award
1016 North Garden StreetGrinstad & Wagner Architects, Inc5) Entry
Camano Island RemodelPrentiss Architects5) Entry
Chuckanut RemodelDouglas Landsem Architect, AIA5) Entry
Clarkwood Drive RemodelDouglas Landsem Architect, AIA5) Entry
Gannon/Larson ResidenceHKP Architects5) Entry
Hood CanalPrentiss Architects5) Entry
House In The FieldZervas5) Entry
Littlefield Celtic Cultural CenterHKP Architects5) Entry
NOAARMC Architects5) Entry
Parker's landing: Washougal Waterfront Master PlanChristensen Design Management5) Entry
Perpetual Power Design CharretteChristensen Design Management5) Entry
Pineapple HouseChristensen Design Management5) Entry
the ClubhouseSTUDIOEDISON5) Entry
Thomas Eco-HouseDesigns Northwest Architects5) Entry
Thompson Road ResidenceBrooks Middleton, Architect5) Entry
Whatcom Community College Auxiliary Services Building (ASB)Zervas5) Entry

About the Jury

Victor E. Sidy, AIA LEED AP

nwaia-awards-jury-2013-sidyHead of School and Dean Frank Lloyd Wright School of Architecture Frank Llyod Wright Foundation Scottsdale, AZ

Victor Sidy has been Dean of the Frank Lloyd Wright School of Architecture since 2005. His work has appeared and been featured in the New York Times, Interiors Magazine, Blueprint Magazine, Better Homes and Gardens, CNN International, the Home and Garden Network, the Discovery Channel, and numerous other publications and broadcasts. Sidy received his architectural training from the Frank Lloyd Wright School of Architecture after receiving the Flinn Foundation Scholarship and Robert C. Byrd Scholarship. He has worked with artists, architects, and planners in Russia, Germany, the Netherlands, and the United States and has taught students from elementary school to graduate school in a variety of architecturerelated fields. Mr. Sidy hosted a television series on architecture for EMG Satellite Television that aired from 1996 to 1998 and was the youngest member of Architecture Magazine’s May 1999 feature “Young Americans“. Mr. Sidy will be have a presentation on the Legacy of Frank Lloyd Wright, and the past, present and future for this Taliesin School of Architecture.

Kathy A. Larsen

nwaia-awards-jury-2013-larsenPuget Sound Energy Burlington, WA

Career professional at Puget Sound Energy, currently Major Account Manager. Kathy has held numerous manager positions in government and community relations, customer outreach programs, speakers’ bureau, customer service field operations and was involved in the launch of Puget Power’s award winning conservation program during the early 1980’s. Has served leadership roles in a variety of community organizations: Executive VP Whatcom County EDC, Bellingham Chamber BOD, Whatcom County United Way BOD, Padilla Bay Foundation BOD, Skagit County Community Action Agency BOD, Skagit Valley College Foundation Board Secretary, Skagit County Tulip Festival Board President, Anacortes Chamber Board President, Skagit Business Alliance Board Secretary, Skagit Women in Business Board President, Finalist Skagit County Business and Professional Woman of the Year. Kathy resides in Anacortes.

Wade Marlow

nwaia-awards-jury-2013-marlowBellingham, WA

From 1980 to 2010 Wade Marlow owned one of the largest galleries in the Pacific North West. During that 30 years Wade curated hundreds of shows and juried or judged dozens of others. Though an art and art history major in college his real education in art & architecture occurred in the streets and museums of Europe while leading 30 trips there and several more to Egypt. A painter as well Wade is enjoying being semi-retired by returning to the easel and doing art appraisals.









Pages-Logo 11-2013 bormann intl-stripe 2a-Green
heating green small
K Engineerssmall
mbdawson small
MTC small

hvac design


BK Design logo 2013
GB Designs